A Facebook Throwback

Have you ever wondered what you were doing on this very day in years past?  I wondered that today.  I didn’t have a topic planned out to write about, and I was wondering that.  So I did a little digging and found myself on Facebook on this date in previous years.  Let’s just say that I had a good time with my little bit of research.

“It’s funny how a melody sounds like a memory, like the soundtrack to a July Saturday night.”  —Eric Church, “Springsteen”

2008

Screenshot 2008 1Oh, 2008.  The summer after my freshman year of college.  I was tagged in some pictures with high school friends, and I appear to have gained a couple of friends.  I went to some events.  And some people wrote on my wall.

The first post if from a dear high school friend, whom I still feel close to.  I have no idea whatsoever what we were talking about, but it still makes me smile.

The second post was from my general chemistry lab partner from the fall of 2007.  He became my buddy for a while, even though he stopped taking chemistry classes.  I remember seeing him again at our spring fling senior party, right before we graduated from college.  There was that look of recognition in his eyes, but it’s like he could never place it.  I guess I’m decently forgettable.

The third post was from a college friend who was traveling in Europe that summer.  I remember being jealous, and if you can read it, it certainly sounds like she had some great times.  She’s getting married pretty soon, now, and I haven’t spoken to her in a couple of years.  That makes me sad, but I guess people just grow apart sometimes.Screenshot 2008 2

Onto the second screenshot – June 12, 2008 was a busy day on Facebook for me!  The next post is from a girl several years younger than me who went on the church mission trip with me the previous summer.  Again, I have no idea what we were talking about.

The penultimate post of the day was from a college friend of mine.  We have the best meeting story of any in my life, aside from potentially the story of how I met H (you’ll have to ask, because that’s a whole different story, if you don’t already know it).  On the very first day of college, I was eating lunch by myself in the cafeteria and he just plopped down at my table, said, “Hey!  I’m I!  Nice to meet you!” and then dug into his food.  We were friends after that, and then coworkers, and then friends again.  He was a good guy.

And the last tidbit there is a status I wrote on this day in 2008.  In case you’re not familiar with Hairspray, that’s a line from one of the musical numbers.  I’ve always been big into song lyrics.

I remember it being a lonely and rough summer, but I obviously had friends who were keeping up with my life.  It seems like longer than six years ago.

2010

Screenshot 2010Nothing was posted on this date in 2009, so we move forward.  June 2010 – freshly home from studying abroad and about to embark on a new adventure as an intern in the nation’s capital.  The only post from this date is my status – another song lyric, this time from David Cook in a song called “Declaration.”  I was still dating my ex at this point.  Most of my new Facebook friends were people I met at my internship.  The picture above the status is from our last night out while abroad.  The post below is from another dear college friend of mine, who just got married two weeks ago!  I miss her.  I miss a lot of people.

2011

Screenshot 2011Oh, the year I graduated from college.  You can see, from the bottom half of a picture in the top left, that I was in my first wedding in June 2011.  I made a bunch of new friends, and each has a different, unique story.  The top status is me reminiscing on my internship the summer before.  The middle post is from my former roommate’s ex-boyfriend at the time.  I was trying to finagle a way to get them back together.  I’m not sure my influence did anything, but they’re married now.  The next is another song lyric status.  This one is from The Civil Wars, a lovely little song called “Poison and Wine.”  And the picture you can only see the top of is of my cousin and I at my sister’s high school graduation party.  He’s the cousin who graduated from high school himself last weekend.  Time flies.

2012

Screenshot 2012Our last stop on this trip down memory lane.  You’ll see a post on my wall that I don’t even understand anymore.  This friend and I have so many inside jokes that I can’t even keep track of them all anymore.  He’s in grad school out west now.  I’m hoping that this is the year I can visit him!  The pictures you can see are from my former roommates’ wedding (although it’s a different former roommate than I mentioned in the previous paragraph).  And, last, but certainly not least, is my last song lyric quote.  This one is Eric Church, which is fitting.  The song is called “Longer Gone,” just like I felt I was, at that point in my life.

It’s funny, to me, to look back on these things.  Even when I thought I was happy, I didn’t even know what happiness was.  There wasn’t anything from last year on this date, but I almost with there had been.  I think you would have been able to see the difference in me, after meeting H in late 2012.

“All those days are gone forever.  I wonder if we’re going to ever see all our young-life friends that we made again.  Have we all lost connection?  Life pulls in all directions.  Memories bring us back to where we’ve been.”  —Anberlin, “Younglife”

I hope you enjoyed this little adventure in Facebook creeping on myself!  Happy Thursday!

-A.

One thought on “A Facebook Throwback

  1. June 12, 2013 my status was “365 days until the World Cup!” hahaha. It’s clear what is important in my life. In 2012, it was Jenny talking about America’s Next Top Model lol. 2011 was about my surgery, and nothing in 2010, but on June 11th that year I was also talking about World Cup soccer hahaha. Loved reading this!

Leave a Reply

