Weekend Plans #1

Welcome to the weekend!  And this happens to be a fairly special weekend, since it’s the first weekend of 2014!

I decided, when I was making my blog calendar, that I would talk about my plans for the weekend each Saturday.  Why?  Well, part of it was because H and I are always so busy, running around doing something, and I thought documenting the busy-ness might help people understand why we are always so tired.  Haha.  The other reason was that I wanted something laid back for Saturday posts, something easy to read.  Weekends are fun!  And probably not a time where people want to read something meaningful, like why I want world peace or anything.[i]

So, how are H and I spending our first weekend of 2014?  Let’s back up a little bit.

Between December 20th and December 29th, we put almost 1,000 miles on H’s car, driving all across the Midwest[ii] to try to spend equal amounts of time with our families for the holidays.  When we finally got home again, we were (and are) reluctant to leave again.  We still owe my family a weekend, because we were supposed to go back to my hometown this weekend.  I am guessing we will make that trip later in the month.  But this weekend… Nope.  We’re staying home.

This is how we look at our last Christmas celebration.  Tired-happy.
This is how we look at our last Christmas celebration. Tired-happy.

Don’t be alarmed.  We’re not as boring as we sound.  Part of the reason we decided not to go back to my home was this – I somehow forgot that I got tickets to a college hockey game tonight!  It is the Mariucci Classic, and the University of Minnesota Golden Gophers are playing either Ferris State University or Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.[iii]  It’s decided by who wins the game earlier in the day, which is pretty cool.  So, here’s a breakdown of our weekend:

Friday night/most of Saturday:  Relaxing.  Playing with the puppy.[iv]  Reading.  Watching Grey’s Anatomy.  Whatever tickles our fancy.[v]

Saturday evening:  Mariucci Classic game!  Yay hockey!

Most of Sunday:  See “Friday night/most of Saturday”

Sunday evening:  belated anniversary dinner at the Melting Pot, a favorite restaurant of mine where everything is fondue and you’re full for a day or so afterwards.

So, it’s going to be a pretty fun weekend, I think.  Fun in a relaxing sort of way.

That’s pretty much all I have to say, but I can already see some questions about the anniversary dinner coming up, so I’ll explain that a little further.

H and I started seeing each other on a regular basis in October of 2012.  I remember, because it was around the time that K, my best friend, got married.  By the time Thanksgiving had rolled around, I felt like we were dating, but we hadn’t talked about it at all.  I had already turned my Claddagh ring around,[vi] but that is probably only significant to me and Irish people.

My Claddagh ring, bought in Dublin in March 2010.
My Claddagh ring, bought in Dublin in March 2010.

By the weekend after Thanksgiving 2012, H and I hadn’t seen each other in a week.[vii]  And, after being home with family and friends, I was eager to figure out what we were, because I was tired of not having an answer when I was asked.  So I decided to make him figure it out – I asked him to go to my mom’s family’s Christmas with me.  He agreed, and later on, said that must mean we’re dating.  So I’ve held December 1st as our official anniversary, even though we’d been together for a couple months before that.  And this December 1st was part of the weekend of Thanksgiving, and found H and I at a college girls’ hockey game with my family.  Which was fun, don’t get me wrong.  But then he went back to the mountains for work, then it was Christmases everywhere, and we never had a night of just us going out on a date.  So, we’re doing that this weekend.  And I’ve been looking forward to this for over a month, so I’m pretty excited.  🙂

Happy weekend!  Here’s a picture of Ole looking like a demon while he sleeps.  Just because.

Creepy, right?
Creepy, right?

-A.


[i] If you, for some reason, are interested in why I want world peace, let me know.  I guess I could talk about that on a Friday.

[ii] This might be a slight exaggeration.  But it seemed like we were driving all over the Midwest.

[iii] Ferris State is in Michigan.  RPI is apparently in New York.  Whatever.  Go Gophers!

[iv] I realize that Ole is a dog.  But he has started responding when I call him Puppy, and I usually refer to him as “the puppy.”  I’m not sure why I do that, actually.  He’s cute, though, so I’m probably not going to stop.

[v] Fancies?  Should this be plural?  I’ve never been one to completely understand idioms and phrases.

[vi] It turns out, in doing a little bit of research for this post, that my impression of the Claddagh ring and the direction you’re supposed to wear it has been wrong since I first had it explained to me when I was in Ireland almost four years ago.  Yikes.  So I’ve been wearing it backwards until recently.  My Irish ancestors are probably rolling over in their graves at my misunderstanding of tradition.  Or something.

[vii] He and the men in his family always go on a pheasant hunting trip in North Dakota in the days before Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

