“19 You + Me” by Dan + Shay

If you haven’t heard this song, here’s the lyric video.

Today wasn’t the day I was going to write about this song.  I love it, and I was saving it for next week, wanting to showcase something quirkier to begin with.[i]  But then the Arctic Freeze happened.

Feels like -44?  Eff that.
Feels like -44? Eff that.

It’s almost -50 degrees outside!  So I needed summer.  I needed the beach.  I needed a country song.

This is why I chose this song for this frigid day:

It was our first week at Myrtle Beach, where it all began

It was 102, nothing to do, man it was hot, so we jumped in

We were summertime sipping, sipping

Sweet tea kissing off of your lips

Tee shirt dripping, dripping wet

How could I forget?

Watching that blond hair swing to every song I’d sing

You were California beautiful

I was playing everything but cool

I can still hear that sound of every wave crashing down

Like that tears we cried that day we had to leave

It was everything we wanted it to be

The summer of nineteen you and me

I recently watched an episode of Grey’s Anatomy where a character is dealing with phantom limb pain.[ii]  There’s no proven remedy for that kind of pain – it depends on the person dealing with it, and what they have to do in order to process the pain.  This particular character went to the beach.  Well, sort of.  She imagined a beach, and focused on trying to slow down the waves.  And it worked.  She was able to control the pain in her leg by focusing on the sound of the waves.

This is what I’m trying to do here.  Except it’s not phantom limb pain I’m dealing with, but the miserably cold temperatures that have left a ring of frost around the inside of the windows in our house, that have made it so my car won’t start, that have left me feeling cooped up and restless.  I’m focusing on the waves.  I’m remember the last time the temperature made me feel miserable and relishing it – heat waves with suffocating humidity, where sweat soaked through my clothes in a matter of minutes.  Focus.

I’ll be honest – it’s not really working.  I’ve felt a chill to my very bones for the last week, which has caused a head cold and makes it hard to breathe at night, when I’m supposed to be sleeping.  But I’ll keep trying, because what else am I going to do?

Anyway.  Back to the song.

While this is a pretty typical country song, it makes me think of summer in a way that makes me smile.  When I close my eyes, I see H with a fishing pole and his pants rolled to below the knee, fishing off the end of a dock.  I see barbeques and get-togethers, tank tops and tan lines, swim suits and smiles.  I remember the feeling of running around a lake at sunrise in my sports bra, trying to avoid the heat of the day.  And it makes me hate winter even more than I already do.

Lake life
Lake life
4th of July
4th of July
Sunset boat ride
Sunset boat ride

It also makes me miss North Carolina.  I only lived there for about six months, but there was so much that I never had the chance to see.  And I have a friend who has been trying to get me to move back since I left, and I know she’s reading this.  Yes, I miss North Carolina.  I miss it more often than you’d think, but especially in the winter.  Humans are adaptable creatures, as you can probably tell from Friday’s post on how to dress for these disgustingly cold winter days.  But I don’t believe that anyone is supposed to live in this kind of cold.

We had our first dance in the sand

It was one hell of a souvenir

Back to the song again.[iii]  I don’t know exactly why, but I love this line.  I think it reminds me of TV, of the rich people in shows with summer houses looking out at the beach.  I wish I could have my first dance in the sand.[iv]  Doesn’t that sound lovely?

This post has strayed all over the place, but here is the point.  Who doesn’t remember what love feels like when it’s wrapped in summertime?  I do.  And I want summer back, just so I can experience it again.[v]  Well, I want summer back for any reason, really.

I’m on a beach.  I’m on a beach.  I’m on a beach.

-A.


[i] My music taste is all over the place, for those of you who don’t know me.

[ii] I’m not sure if the spoiler alert matters here, since it was last season.  I decided against it.  Whatever.

[iii] It’s so cold that my brain isn’t working properly.  It keeps skipping around like a scratched CD.

[iv] Wedding dance, that is.  I’ve always wanted to get married on a beach far away from Minnesota, mostly because I’m uncomfortable in both crowds and situations where I am the center of attention.  But that isn’t something I have to worry about yet.

[v] Although, to be honest, I’ve always been the one who is “playing everything but cool.”

Leave a Reply

