Seester

For some reason, this post has been the most difficult for me to find the motivation to write of anything that I’ve encountered so far on my blog calendar.[i]  It isn’t that the topic doesn’t interest me.  Obviously it does – this is my sister I’m talking about.  But I’ve been keeping things pretty light so far, talking about running and TV shows and frog bookmarks that find their way into my CD drive.  And this is the first time that I will be delving into something a little deeper.

On alternating Sundays,[ii] I will be writing about 26 individuals who inspire me.  My list could have gone on past that, but I chose to stop, so that the list would mean something.  So that there was a cut off.  These 26 people have motivated many different aspects of my life, and some have molded me into the person I have become.  At least to some extent.

And my sister… well, she’s shaped almost every single one of my memories.

Fort Myers Beach, Florida - March 2013
Fort Myers Beach, Florida – March 2013

Seester is four years younger than me, but the memories I have before she was born are few and far between.[iii]  She’s been a cornerstone in my life.  She’s everything that matters in my life.

Summer 2013
Summer 2013

What I really want to focus on in these inspirational people posts are the reasons I am inspired by these people.  But it’s hard to put it all into words when it comes to Seester.

  1. She is resilient.  Every person goes through hardships, but I have to say that Seester has had an unfair share of them.  She lost a friend to suicide when she was only 14.  She has been let down by more people than I can count.  She’s been pushed around, bullied, all of it.  But she never lets it break her.  She always comes back.  Sometimes, thinking about this is what gets me to get out of bed in the morning.  If Seester can do it, so can I.
  2. She is funny.  That girl has a sense of humor that gets me, no matter what mood I’m in.  Sometimes, if I am having a bad day, I call her simply because I know she’ll put a smile on my face.
  3. She is honest.  To a fault.  I remember a specific time that I brought her with me to pick out new frames for my glasses.  She sat in a chair and played on her phone the whole time, but when I put something on to ask her what she thought, she’d always give an answer.  Usually, it was some form of “eww, no.”  But that’s what I’m saying!  If I want an honest opinion, she’s who I go to.
  4. She is loyal.  I’ve told H from the beginning that he’s set as long as my sister likes him.  And she will like him as long as he’s good to me.  There are people in my life whose names I can’t speak around Seester, because they’ve hurt me, and I’m more forgiving than she is.  If you hurt me, Seester hates you.  End of story.
  5. She stands up for what she believes.  This is probably the most important of all, to me.  She is a Women and Gender Studies major in college, and seeing her in her element has really showed me that I need to be more assertive when it comes to my beliefs.  It was knowing that she would be proud of me that helped me write this blog post a year and a half ago in support of my childhood best friend, for example.  She is constantly confronting people about their narrow-mindedness, and that is the most inspirational thing a person could possibly do, in my opinion.

I could go on and on.  She’s real, and she’s flawed, and that’s okay, because she’s my sister.  And I love her even when I hate her.[iv]  But I mostly love her.  She quotes movies with me and she laughs at me for being a nerd.  She asks me to proofread her papers, and she’s almost always my beta-reader when I’ve written a new story.  I’ve said more than once that she’s my other half.

Christmas shopping - December 2013
Christmas shopping – December 2013

She knows what she means to me, so I’m going to stop here.  But I don’t think I will ever stop being inspired by her, because we are both constantly changing and growing up.

September 2013
What, did you think we were serious all the time?

If you’re reading this, I love you, Seester.  To the moon and back.

Our attractiveness knows no bounds.  Obviously.
Our attractiveness knows no bounds. Obviously.

“And when it all comes down and I’m feeling like I’ll never last, I just lean on you, because baby, you’re my better half.”  —Keith Urban

-A.


[i] Yes, of course I have a blog calendar.  Haven’t you learned this much about me yet?  I am organized.  And I plan things out to a fault.

[ii] The other Sundays will be about places I want to go, in case you hadn’t picked up on that yet.

[iii] Really, the only thing I truly remember before she was born was having the chicken pox.  That was awful.

[iv] That is taken straight from Derek and Meredith’s post it wedding.  Yes, I’m a Grey’s Anatomy nerd.

Leave a Reply

