71st Annual Golden Globe Awards

I love award shows.  I don’t really know why, but I’ve always liked to watch them.  Since I am an avid fan of entertainment in general, I usually know (and love) some of the actors, actresses, and the projects that the awards are being presented for.  This year is no different, although I must admit that I’ve seen very few of the shows (and none of the movies – yet) that were nominated.  But the actors!  The actresses!  I love everything.

And obviously, Tina Fey and Amy Poehler are national treasures.[i]

Queens.
Queens.

Award show recaps are pretty boring, and well covered on Buzzfeed, so you can head over there if you want to know about fashion and all that nonsense.  I’m just going to list the winners, and what I thought of the choices of the Hollywood Foreign Press.

In order of presentation (if you want to see pictures, go here):

Best Supporting Actress in a Television Comedy, Drama, Miniseries, or Movie:  Jacqueline Bisset, Dancing on the Edge

Honestly, I don’t know who this woman is[ii], but her acceptance speech was a train wreck.  Can a person already be drunk by the time the first award was presented?

Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture:  Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle

JLAWWWWWW!!![iii]  Oh my goodness, this made me so happy.  American Hustle is top of my list of movies I want to see in the near future, and this helps cement it.  I’m so excited for another award season of Jennifer Lawrence interviews, because they are the best.

Weird dress, beautiful girl.
Weird dress, beautiful girl.

Best Miniseries of Made-for-Television Movie:  Behind the Candelabra

I haven’t seen this, but I read about it in Entertainment Weekly[iv].  Between Michael Douglas and Matt Damon, I don’t see how it could be anything other than good.

Best Actress in a Miniseries or Made-for-Television Movie:  Elisabeth Moss, Top of the Lake

She looks fierce in this miniseries, but I haven’t seen it.  I’ll have to look into it, because I loved her in Did You Hear About the Morgans.[v]

Best Actor in a Television Drama:  Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad

He deserved to win, definitely.  H wants to watch this show after we’re done with Grey’s Anatomy, and I’m for it.  My coworkers all love it, and now that it’s over, we can binge watch the whole thing.

Best Television Drama:  Breaking Bad

Again – I hear this show deserved the award for its last season.

Best Original Score:  All is Lost

This is that movie with Robert Redford on a boat.  That’s really all I know.  And that the composer for this movie looks like a Mumford or Son, and Diddy partied with him in St. Barts.[vi]

Best Original Song:  “Ordinary Love,” Mandela:  Long Walk to Freedom

Bono cowrote this, so I’m not surprised.  He’s kind of a d-word sometimes, but I appreciate his passion and his humanitarian work.  And I enjoyed watching him try to dodge a Diddy hug.

Best Supporting Actor in a Television Comedy, Drama, Miniseries, or Movie:  Jon Voight, Ray Donovan

I don’t know what this is about, and I’m not the hugest fan of Jon Voight.  And his speech went on forever.  I really only know him as Angelina Jolie’s real-life dad.  And Nicolas Cage’s National Treasure dad.[vii]

Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical:  Amy Adams, American Hustle

I have loved her in absolutely everything I’ve seen her in.  Just another reason to watch this movie.

Best Actress in a Television Drama:  Robin Wright, House of Cards

Three things I want to mention here.  1)  Is it fair that Netflix is considered a network for these award shows?  Maybe it is.  Or maybe it’s something I’m just going to have to get used to.  2)  Didn’t she used to be Robin Wright Penn?  3)  Anyone else see her almost nip-slip on stage?  It was a close one.  You could see the bandaid thing covering her up from the side.

Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture:  Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

I want to see this movie so badly, and Jared Leto is half the reason.  He plays a transgender woman with AIDS, and he looks incredible.  I was very pleased he won, even though it meant that Bradley Cooper didn’t get recognized for his work opposite Jennifer Lawrence once again.[viii]

Best Original Screenplay:  Her, Spike Jonze

Is Spike his real name?  Is that really how Jonze is supposed to be spelled?  I have more questions than answers on this one.  I’m kind of glad that David O. Russell didn’t win though.  As much as I love what he does for JLaw, he seems like a… well, a d-hole.

Best Actor in a Television Comedy or Musical:  Andy Samberg, Brooklyn Nine-Nine

LOVE HIM!  And I love when Saturday Night Live alumni make it in the mainstream.  I want to watch this show very badly.

Best Foreign Language Film:  The Great Beauty

I honestly have nothing to say about this, except that it’s cool that it’s an Italian film.

Best Actor in a Miniseries or Made-for-Television Movie:  Michael Douglas, Behind the Candelabra

I wasn’t surprised in the slightest by this.  He’s wonderful, and he deserved the award.  I wish Catherine Zeta-Jones had been there with him.  I’m still sad that they separated.  And that her down-there disease gave him throat cancer.

Best Animated Feature:  Frozen

I want to see this so badly!  Idina Menzel, oh, I love you.

Best Actress in a Television Comedy or Musical:  Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

AHHHHHHHHH!!!!  I told you!  She’s a national treasure!  I love her, love the show, love Leslie Knope, love everything.  EVERYTHING!!  So much happiness!

Best Director in a Motion Picture:  Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity

Did you know that he directed the third Harry Potter movie?  Now you do!  I love Sandra Bullock, but I have no interest in seeing this movie.  I’ve even heard it’s good.  Still don’t want to see it.

Best Television Comedy or Musical:  Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Seriously, I have to find a way to watch this show.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical:  Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

Finally, he won something!  Maybe he’ll even get nominated for an Oscar, finally!  And, maybe not.  We shall see, and our hearts will go on.[ix]

Best Picture – Comedy or Musical:  American Hustle

MUST SEE THIS MOVIE!!

Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama:  Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

A Woody Allen movie.  He was honored at the Globes, too, but I’m not a fan of his work.  At all.  It’s quirky, and weird, and yes, he writes great parts for women.  But I just… I can’t with him.  Plus, he’s friends with Diane Keaton, and I can’t stand Diane Keaton.  Personal opinion, don’t try to pick a fight with me about it.  But I just don’t like her.  Or Woody Allen.  This is all a roundabout way of saying, I’m sure Cate Blanchett was great in this movie – she’s always great!  But I’m not going to see it.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama:  Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

He sounded like a surfer who had smoked a few of Colorado’s finest before the show started when he gave his acceptance speech, but no matter.  I’m glad this movie is getting recognition!  As I said, I want to see it!

Best Picture – Drama:  12 Years a Slave

Not surprised this won.  I’ve heard it’s great, and gritty, and will make you cringe and all that.  I’m not into movies like that.  I want to enjoy going to the movie theater.  But I completely support recognizing actors for the hard work and tough roles they play.

There you have it!  The 71st Annual Golden Globes.  Oh, and Amy Poehler dressed up as Tina Fey’s son, went out into the audience, and tried to guess who his (her?) dad was.  It was perfect.  And Kevin Bacon and Kyra Sedgewick’s daughter was the Golden Globe girl.  And Amy and Tina called Matt Damon a garbage man.  I think that’s everything.

Happy Wednesday, and welcome to award season!

-A.


[i] Not to be confused with the Nicolas Cage movie, which I also like.

[ii] Upon looking her up on IMDb, I still don’t know who she is.  But I do know that she was a Bond girl in 1967.  Good information.

[iii] I may or may not have told my friend during the award show that I would marry Jennifer Lawrence if I could.  There’s a reason I’ve been fighting for equal rights all this time – she’s my soul mate.  H is aware of my love for her.  I think.

[iv] Obviously, I have a subscription.

[v] Everyone knows her from Mad Men, but I’ve never seen that either.  Maybe that can be my new binge show, after I’m done with Revenge.  Only if it’s on Netflix, though.

[vi] Yeah, Diddy must have been drunk while presenting.

[vii] How has National Treasure gotten mentioned twice in a single post without bringing up how wonderful Riley is??  Justin Bartha is amazing and I love him as an actor.  There, now it’s out there.

[viii] Last year, Daniel Day Lewis sort of stole the show by being Lincoln, and all that.

[ix] See what I did there?

3 thoughts on “71st Annual Golden Globe Awards

  1. 12 years a slave was horrifying. I did not know what I was getting into when I went to see it. I thought it would be sad, and I was prepared for that, but I was not prepared to see the gory, gruesome beatings. I would have preferred not to see it, but I do appreciate the actors and actresses getting recognized for their work.

    1. That’s what I’ve heard! That it’s hard to watch! Part of me wants to see it, but the part of me who has sat through movies like that before knows that I won’t like it.

Leave a Reply

