“Catch My Breath” by Kelly Clarkson

Listen here.

Another disclaimer – I love Kelly Clarkson.  I’ve never seen a full episode of American Idol, but I’ve still loved her from the beginning.  She has such a powerful voice, and she is known for female anthems and breakup songs, and every girl needs a little bit of that in her life.  Am I right, ladies?

The song starts by saying that she has let people control her for most of her life.  And I get that, especially in an industry like music.  When you are new to an industry, you’re probably not going to assert yourself.  You’re just along for the ride.  While I’m sure I can’t relate to it on the scale that she’s talking about, I get it.  My job isn’t very stimulating, but I took it because I felt like I had to – I had no other options at the time, and the benefits package that they were offering was incredible.  And now I feel like I’m stuck, like my work life is out of my control.[i]

But see, then Kelly gets strong.  Check out this second verse, with chorus after:

Addicted to the love I’ve found

Heavy heart, now a weightless cloud

Making time for the ones that count

I’ll spend the rest of my time

Laughing hard with the windows down

Leaving footprints all over town

Keeping faith karma comes around

I won’t spend the rest of my life

Catching my breath and letting it go

Turning my cheek for the sake of the show

Now that you know this is my life

I won’t be told what’s supposed to be right

That verse is why I like this song so much.  She is saying that she needed to find someone to open her eyes to the world around her.[ii]  She needed to find love.  And this is why I like this song – because I know exactly what she’s talking about.

Before I met H, I was fine.  I was.  I was going through life, trying to figure out what I wanted to do, trying to find what was missing.  I had no idea that it was a person that was missing.  I didn’t realize that I was truly looking for someone who fit with me.  I thought it was a new career, maybe some new friends, the like.  I wanted to find a guy, and I was trying out some online sites to meet people.  But I always found something wrong with everyone.  There was always some reason that made me not want to try any harder.  He was too short.  He talked about beer too much.  He wanted to talk philosophically about growing bamboo trees.  He made a joke about handicapped people.[iii]  There was always something that made me give up on them.

I’m not sure what was different about H.  He also wants to grow bamboo trees and talks about beer a lot.  So it wasn’t in the little things that I thought it was.  He just… fits with me.  He complements me.  He’s my missing piece.

So I get it, Kelly.  I get that having someone like that in your life can make you stronger, can make you better, can make you see everything clearer.  I’m glad she found what she was looking for.  And I’m more happy than I ever thought I could be, because I found what I didn’t know I was looking for.

Look how happy she is.
Look how happy she is.

“You helped me see the beauty in everything.”

-A.


[i] Mostly because of the union that takes money out of every single paycheck without asking if I want to be a part of it.  Like I said – out of my control.

[ii] I’m assuming she’s talking about her new husband, but I guess we’ll just keep speculating.

[iii] Okay, that one was a legitimate reason.  He was terribly politically incorrect.  I would never have been okay with letting that one continue.

Leave a Reply

