I’m a merchandiser for Chloe + Isabel!

Okay, okay, I’m sorry it took me so long to explain this to you all.  But better late than never, right?  And now that I’ve waited about a week, I know more, so I have more to share.

What is Chloe + Isabel?

Chloe + Isabel is a jewelry company that is available exclusively through merchandisers across the country, so you’re not going to find it in any stores.  The company was founded by Chantel Waterbury[i] in 2011, so it’s still pretty new!  It’s based on the friendship philosophy – Chloe and Isabel are best friends, but their taste in style is different.  Chloe is a trendsetter, always up on fashion and the latest styles, and Isabel is more classic and refined, favoring timeless pieces to trendy ones.  But that’s what makes this company so awesome – they have a little bit of everything!  You might be a Chloe, and Isabel, or a Chloe-bel, and no matter what, Chloe + Isabel has something for you.

I love the logo, too.
I love the logo, too.

What does it mean to be a merchandiser?

Being a merchandiser for this company means that you are the store.  It is a direct sales company, so all of the inventory is carried by the merchandisers.  However, this company is different because each merchandiser also has an online boutique of their own that they can personalize and maintain.

How does a merchandiser sell the jewelry?

In addition to the online boutique, merchandisers for Chloe + Isabel are encouraged to find hosts (or host their own!) for pop-up shops.  Pop-up shops (or trunk shows) can be held anywhere, but are often held in people’s homes.  My mom is hosting my first pop-up shop, and K is hosting the next one I have on my calendar.  At the pop-up shops, merchandisers display the jewelry, which allows potential customers to see it, touch it, and try it on.  The one my mom is hosting is this weekend, and I’m starting to get really excited!

DSCN4951 DSCN4943 DSCN4941 DSCN4940 DSCN4935 DSCN4933 DSCN4931 DSCN4930 DSCN4922

A sample of the jewelry.
A sample of the jewelry.

Why is this a great opportunity for you?  You’re a chemist, right?

Ha.  Yes, my college degree is in Chemistry, and the Master’s degree I’m working on is in Technical and Scientific Communication.  This seems like a weird move for someone like me.  But if you know me, it’s probably not quite so strange.  I have been working in sales off and on since I was allowed to get my first job at age fifteen.  I was an RA in college, so I have a lot of leadership experience.  I worked as a Wedding Consultant at David’s Bridal over the summer, so I know a little bit about fashion and the industry.  And I love jewelry.  I think this could be my foot in the door to running my own business.  Eventually, once I get my Master’s degree, I’d like to be able to freelance write, and this is a great way to learn how to build a client/customer base and promote a product.  I think I’m going to learn a lot, and it will help me find security in the skill set that I already have.

Want more information?

Well, I can certainly tell you more, if you want to know!  Leave me a comment, shoot me an email,[ii] tweet me, send me a facebook message,[iii] however you want to get ahold of me!  I can tell you more, we could try to book a pop-up shop, anything you want!  I’m so excited, and I would love to share that excitement with you!

Happy Tuesday!

-A.


[i] I didn’t know much about Ms. Waterbury until joining this company, but now that I’ve read some more about her, I am thrilled to be part of her dream business.  Want to read more about her?  Here are two great articles from Business Insider and Lean In.  (http://www.businessinsider.com/how-chantel-waterbury-leveraged-her-executive-fashion-experience-to-launch-chloe–isabel-2012-3) (http://leanin.org/stories/chantel-waterbury/)

[ii] amanda.gernentz@gmail.com

[iii] Or like my facebook page – Amanda Gernentz for Chloe + Isabel

Leave a Reply

