I got a new bike!

Over the weekend, two very exciting things happened.  First, H bought some new running shoes to replace the ones he had from college.  He decided to run a race with me, can you believe that?  It was the perfect time for him to do that, though, since I’m recovering from an injury, and he hasn’t ran in a very long time.  So I think we will be pretty equal, in terms of being ready for the race.

The second thing that happened was also very exciting for me.  I got a new bike!

H loves to bike.  He’s got both a road bike and a mountain bike, and he just loves it all.  We’ve been talking about getting me a good bike for quite a while now, and it finally happened!

H, of course, wanted to make sure that I’m going to be able to keep up with him, and we were in luck!  A really neat, local bike shop less than a mile from us had a bike that fit me from last year, so we got a really good deal on it.  It has a carbon frame[i], so it’s pretty top of the line, as far as I know.[ii]  It’s red and white, and I got some black and white bike shoes to go with it.

So.  What does this mean?  Well, we went to visit the shop on Saturday, were shown the bike, told the price and the specs, and then H said I could go home and think about it.  Because, for the amount of money we would be spending, he wanted to make sure that I was committed to getting my money’s worth.  So, we went home, and I spent the rest of the day and all Saturday night thinking about it.  This is what I came up with.

Pros

  1. Would be able to bike with H and keep up.
  2. Would be able to crosstrain easily for running without needing a gym membership.[iii]
  3. Would be able to participate in the MS 150 with H next time he does it – my previous bike wouldn’t have given me a chance in hell of finishing that event.
  4. Would be able to commute to work, saving money on both gas and parking during the warm couple weeks here in Minnesota.[iv]

Cons

  1. Cost up front.

Since that was really the only con I could come up with, H and I went back to the bike shop on Sunday and I put down my credit card without hesitating (much).  But I’m actually really excited now!  I’m hoping I get to bring it home with me today after my fitting so that I can bike on the trainer tonight while I listen to some of the Chloe + Isabel instructional videos.  Multitasking!

I can’t wait for this cold to snap so that I get ditch my outrageously expensive parking pass[v] and hit the road on my new bike!

-A.


[i] All I know about this is that it makes the bike weigh less.  H says this makes you able to go faster.  What it means to me is that I’ll be able to carry my bike up the stairs, which is all I really wanted to be able to do.

[ii] Which is very little, but I’m working on it.

[iii] Bonus points – H got a bike trainer for Christmas, so I can use that to bike in the winter.

[iv] That was a joke, although this winter is getting to be unbearable.  I’m hoping to be able to use my bike to get to work for half the year – April through October.

[v] I’m talking $30 PER PAYCHECK expensive.  Seriously ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

