9 Questions That Will Help You Find Your Dream Career

I am in the middle of a career change.  I majored in chemistry in college, fully expecting to go into a hard science discipline and do research for the rest of my life.  After less than a semester of graduate school in pharmacology, I realized that I hated research.  Well, guess what I discovered after moving home?  The chances of doing anything other than laboratory technician work with a bachelor’s degree in chemistry was slim to none.  And generally, there’s no hope of moving up.  For a long time, I was trying to find another graduate program to go into, another discipline that I would hopefully enjoy and thrive in.  It took a long time, much longer than I think it should have, for me to figure out that I’ve known what I want to do all along – write and edit.  I think it’s what I’ve always wanted to do, but I just didn’t know it.

Well, this week, I’m hoping to help some other people figure out their dream careers and ace some interviews.[i]  The job market isn’t great, but there’s something perfect out there for everyone.  Welcome to my week of career-focused Tuesday/Thursday posts!

You can read the original article here.

Nine questions that will help you find your dream career:

  1. If I could choose one friend to trade jobs with, I’d choose __________, because __________.
  2. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to do __________.  It’s interesting to me because __________.
  3. If I had the right education or skill set, I’d definitely try __________, because __________.
  4. If I had to go back to school tomorrow, I’d major in __________, because __________.
  5. My coworkers and friends always say I’m great at __________, because __________.
  6. The thing I love most about my current job is __________, because __________.
  7. If my boss would let me, I’d do more of __________, because __________.
  8. If I had a free Saturday that had to be spent “working” on something, I’d choose __________, because __________.
  9. When I retire, I want to be known for __________, because __________.

Here are my answers to the questions:

  1. If I could choose one friend to trade jobs with, I’d choose my high school friend who works at an indie publishing company, because she has a really cool job, and gets to read books all day and get paid for it.
  2. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to get paid to write.  It’s interesting to me because writing is something I have always enjoyed, and I wonder if that aspect would change if it was my job instead of my hobby.
  3. If I had the write education or skill set, I’d definitely try either graphic design or computer programming, because I’m terrible with technology, but wish I knew enough to really create or design something.
  4. If I had to go back to school tomorrow (again), I’d major in creative writing, because I would love to teach creative writing at the college level, and I would like to have something on my resume that would help me get noticed by agents.
  5. My coworkers and friends always say I’m great at writing and editing, because I keep a blog (obviously) and I am the go-to for some of my friends who need papers/whatever proofread and edited for grammar.
  6. The thing I love most about my current job is that I can read and write as I please (as long as I pay attention to the students when they need help), because you can’t get better if you don’t study the people who are great at what you want to do and then practice.
  7. If my boss would let me, I’d do more of the behind-the-scenes organizational and planning stuff, because I think I would be good at it.[ii]
  8. If I had a free Saturday that had to be spent “working” on something, I’d choose to work on writing You Better Run, because I know where I want it to go, but it hasn’t gotten there yet.
  9. When I retire, I want to be remembered for writing something that changed someone’s life, because then I’ll know it was all worth it.

Did you answer the questions?  What’s your dream career?  Mine is obviously to be some sort of writer or editor.  If I could be in a management position, I think that would be ideal for what I want as an end result.  And the coolest part is that I think I’ll get there eventually.

-A.


[i] Stay tuned for Thursday’s post!

[ii] But then I would basically be doing her job, so…

3 thoughts on “9 Questions That Will Help You Find Your Dream Career

Leave a Reply

