Movie Review: Divergent

Well, friends, if you’ve been keeping up with my blog this year, you’ll know that I have some strong feelings about the Divergent Trilogy, by Veronica Roth.  So, needless to say, I was excited to see the movie, just to see if my expectations were met.  And they were.  Boy, they were.

Spoilers ahead, obviously.  Read at your own risk.

As a reader of the books, I was pretty nervous about how everything was going to be adapted to the screen.  I was a little bit afraid that things would get lost, that the world wouldn’t make sense, that sort of thing.  I was lucky in how I viewed the movie.  I went with K (who has read Divergent and Insurgent, but hasn’t finished Allegiant yet) and J2 (who hasn’t read any of the books).  Talk about some different viewpoints, right?  But it was perfect.  It answered all of my questions about how the movie turned out.

  1. It did not do anything to give away the ending.  I was worried about this.  Insurgent may be a different story, but as of right now, nothing has been given away.  Thank goodness.
  2. The world made sense to people who hadn’t read the books.  The only thing that J2 mentioned was that she didn’t understand why they were only wearing certain colors.  That is explained in the books (it helps segregate them, so they recognize what faction everyone is in on sight), but is not mentioned in the movie at all.  But that’s pretty minor, when it comes to a dystopian world.

And the things that they changed for the movie were all in good taste, and all improved how the book translated into a movie.  I was very impressed, and I’m glad Veronica Roth was a producer.  I’m sure that helped.

Other things I noticed:

  • The casting was spot on.  Shailene Woodley and Theo James were perfect as Tris and Four, and Kate Winslet sizzled as Jeanine.  All of the supporting characters were wonderful, and fit the roles perfectly.  I was not disappointed.
  • What irritated me most about Insurgent (the book) was that I couldn’t understand why Tris was doing what she was doing – it was all action and no character development.  But Divergent (the movie) is already setting up to explain it all better than the book did.  I think the next two installments could actually be better than the books.

But what am I looking forward to most, in the years to come?  Theo James, and his development as Four/Tobias.  He was my all-time favorite character in the trilogy, and I loved how he was in the movie.  He was perfect.  And I can’t wait to see him fighting for his life and for Tris and her life and all of the emotion that goes with it.  Seriously, I can’t wait.

What did y’all think of the movie?  Better than the book?  Thoughts?

-A.

One thought on “Movie Review: Divergent

Leave a Reply

