My Running Playlist (4/13)

On Sunday, I ran just under 11 miles (10.83, to be exact).  I was ecstatic – I’ve only run that far twice in my life:  the half marathon that I completed in October, and my longest training run for that half marathon, where I topped out at 11.5 miles.  I was excited.  And I couldn’t have done it without a little help from the little green iPod that H got me for Christmas.

Because I like to know what motivates other people, I thought it would be fun to share the songs I ran to on Sunday.  There were 25[i] during my run,[ii] and each one of them was perfect.  The first thing I should tell you, though?  I look for more than a good beat, because I need my brain to be doing something while I run, too.

  1. “Better than Revenge” by Taylor Swift – You’ve got to love starting out with a little Taylor revenge, right?  This song is one of my favorites by her, because it’s so clever, and the lyrics are laugh-out-loud funny.  Poor girl she’s writing about.[iii]
  2. “Longer Gone” by Eric Church – I needed something like Taylor to get me out the door, but Eric Church is perfect for easing me into my run.  There’s a steady beat, and the lyrics are about chasing something, which is exactly what running is.  What a person is chasing is the only thing that changes.
  3. “Barton Hollow” by The Civil Wars – One of the few (if not the only) upbeat songs by TCW.  There’s a bridge toward the end of the song that talks about running for miles.  Again, just excellent.
  4. “Who’s Cheatin’ Who” by Alan Jackson – I laughed when this one appeared.  Mr. Jackson circa 1990’s was my favorite, and this fast track kept me motivated as I headed toward the Mississippi River.
  5. “The Last Goodbye” by David Cook – Upbeat, not country (which the majority of this playlist is), and about being miles apart from someone.  When I go on long runs, the thing that I like about it is that I can do this crazy, difficult thing, and then I get to end at home, where H is waiting for me.  That’s what I was thinking about when this song came on.
  6. “Red Hands” by Walk Off the Earth – I love the beat of this song, and I actually took my first little walk break while it was playing.  It was a windy day, and I had just been blown around while crossing the river, so I needed to catch my breath.  And this definitely got me moving again.
  7. “You Sound Good to Me” by Lucy Hale – I wrote about this song back at the beginning of March,[iv] so you know I love it.  It has one of those catchy hooks that kept me moving.  Not to mention that it’s about summertime (which I’ve been craving for months) and I got to run along the river while it was playing.
  8. “Life Goes On” by LeAnn Rimes – This is Ms. Rimes from the Coyote Ugly era, which was, in my opinion, a particular high point in her career.  I’ve loved this song since early high school.  It’s about making you stronger as a person.  If that doesn’t motivate you, I’m not sure what would.
  9. “White Fences” by NEEDTOBREATHE – Another great beat, another band I love that few people know about.  It’s an interesting twist on the breakup song – “who is going to mend these white fences?”
  10. “Waka Waka” by Shakira – I believe this song was the theme song to one of the World Cups?  I don’t know for sure, but I know that it was presented to me on a CD burned by one of my best friends to keep me awake while I drove home from visiting him while he was still in college.  So it’s clearly upbeat.  And I love the use of language.  Shakira is pretty great.
  11. “Make it Shine” by Victoria Justice – Guilty pleasure:  the Nickelodeon show Victorious.  Why?  I honestly have no idea.  It made me chuckle.  This is the show’s theme song, and it’s pretty great.  It’s all about proving yourself, which I can always get behind.
  12. “Forever” by Haim – Another song that I’ve covered in a previous post.[v]  I love running to Haim.  They’ve got such an 80’s vibe, and I love that.
  13. “Slumber” by NEEDTOBREATHE – The opening verse of this song is one of my all-time favorites, when it comes to lyrics:  “Days, they force you back under those covers.  Lazy mornings, they multiply.  Glory’s waiting outside your window.  Wake on up from your slumber.  Open up your eyes.”  How perfect is that for embarking on marathon training?
  14. “She’d Be California” by Rascal Flatts – These guys have a nice mix of upbeat country and slow songs, and this is one of their fun, fast ones.  I just love the way the lyrics paint the picture of this girl.  I’m not California, but I know a girl who is.
  15. “This is War” by Thirty Seconds to Mars – This song will forever make me think of the awesome Harry Potter montage.  It’s great.  In fact, here it is, because it’s that awesome.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFBzZfxkWUg
  16. “Beat of the Music” by Brett Eldredge – Something about this song is very catchy to me, and I’m going to leave it at that.  It’s on the docket for me to write about at the end of the month.
  17. “Chasin’ the Neon Rainbow” by Alan Jackson – Two things I learned about Alan Jackson on this particular run:  1) he doesn’t like the letter G, and 2) his 90’s songs always always always make me smile.
  18. “Young and Wild” by Eric Church – Another Eric Church as I was starting to get tired, which was perfect.  Especially this one, which tells you to stay young and wild as long as you can.  It’s always nice to think about being young when you’re pounding on your joints for two hours.  It’s encouraging.
  19. “Lightning in a Bottle” by The Summer Set – I always play air drums to this song.  I can’t help it.  I got song funny looks as I ran along the other side of the river toward home, but I did it anyway.
  20. “Elastic Heart” by Sia featuring The Weeknd and Diplo – from the Catching Fire soundtrack.  I quoted it in one of my very first blog posts, before 2014 had even begun.  It’s a great song.
  21. “Over Me Now?” by Gloriana – From Gloriana’s first album, which few people have heard.  It’s just one of those songs that perfectly describes an emotion.  Listen to it.  You’ll understand.
  22. “Mama’s Broken Heart” by Miranda Lambert – Another song that makes me smile, because Miranda is nuts.  But I love her.  Another great running song:  “Gunpowder and Lead”.
  23. “Mayberry” by Rascal Flatts – I was definitely slowing down by this point, so this song was good.  My favorite part:  “I can’t fly, but I’ve got two feet to get me high up here.  Above the noise and city streets, my worries disappear.”
  24. “First Time” by Lifehouse – I needed Lifehouse right then, because they got me home.  I love this song about new love.  I can relate to it.  I think everyone probably can.  And it’s one of their more upbeat songs.
  25. “Blowing Smoke” by Kacey Musgraves – This one came on right as I was pulling into home.  It’s got a great beat, so I let it play while I walked around a bit.  You must know I love it – I just wrote about it a couple of weeks ago.[vi]

What do you listen to when you run?  What do you think of my scattered and random playlist?  🙂

-A.

 

[i] I made a running playlist with over 250 songs on it the other weekend.  So what I do is put that playlist on shuffle and see what I get.  It’s fun.

[ii] I only ran the first 8.5 miles with my iPod.  The last 2.3-ish were with Ole.

[iii] Reportedly, the song is about Camilla Belle, who “stole” Joe Jonas from TayTay.  Of course, these are rumors and hearsay.  But it’s intriguing, no?

[iv] “You Sound Good to Me,” by Lucy Hale

[v] “Forever” by Haim

[vi] “Blowing Smoke” by Kacey Musgraves

2 thoughts on “My Running Playlist (4/13)

Leave a Reply

