5 Tips to Keep You Healthy at Work (from laurenconrad.com)

I spent some time perusing Lauren Conrad’s blog today, and I came across an article that is perfect for people my own age – how can you stay healthy at work?  I mean, if you have to be there for 40 hours a week, you might as well make the most of it, right?

Here are five tips from LC on how to keep your health at work:

  1. Drink up.  For years, it’s been said that you should drink eight glasses of water per day, but I have actually heard two other suggestions besides that.  The first is that you should drink half your body weight in water per day (which seems like an awful lot to me).  And the second is that you should drink until you are no longer hungry nor thirsty,[i] and your urine is almost clear.  In any case, be sure you’re drinking enough water.  Dehydration is all too common, and it’s no fun.
  2. Plan your meals.  If you’re already running around like a crazy person, the last thing you need to worry about is what you’re going to eat for your next meal.  Not planning it out ahead of time leads to one of two things:  1) skipping a meal, which is bad for your metabolism, or 2) eating something quick and easy – fast food, or something frozen and processed.  Planning out your day’s meals the night before will take away those possibilities.
  3. The buddy system.  Find a coworker (or friend) to keep you accountable, and communicate with them on a regular basis.  I, for one, would be a lot less active without H reminding me that I need to stay on my training plan, or need to do my physical therapy.  He’s good about keeping me on track, and even though he doesn’t work with me, it certainly helps.
  4. Stay accountable.  I love this idea.  They suggest investing in something like a Fitbit, so that you know your daily stats at all times and know when you’ve slacked off (or had an awesome day!).  My mom has one, and she loves it.  I’ll just have to keep saving my money, I suppose.
  5. Work it out.  This is crucial – fit in a workout four days a week.  It sounds like a lot, and it sounds difficult, but you’ll feel better.  I’ve been extremely lax since I got hurt, and I feel more sluggish on the days when I don’t get that workout in.  I can feel the difference, and I’m willing to bet that others can too.

I love these tips, personally.  What do you do to stay healthy when you work full days?

-A.

 

[i] It is believed that part of America’s problem with obesity could be linked to not drinking enough water each day – your brain is telling you that you’re thirsty, but you think you’re hungry and eat instead of getting hydrated.

Leave a Reply

