“I Choose You” by Sara Bareilles

If you haven’t figured this out by now, I have a soft spot for love songs.  Why?  Let me explain by using an old episode of Castle that always sticks in my head.

Castle is worried because he can’t give his daughter any advice – she thinks she’s in love with her boyfriend.  Why is she afraid of this?  Because “all the songs are making sense.”  Even more concerned, Castle asks Detective Beckett for her opinion.  He asks, “How do you know if you’re in love?”  She frowns and says, “All the songs make sense.”

That’s what I always think of when I hear a song that reminds me of H.  And this song is a perfect example of this.sara-bareilles-400x400

Here is the video.  Seriously, watch it.  I was crying at the end, because of the cuteness.

So, this song is about knowing that he is the one.  In a nutshell, that’s the whole thing.  I can relate to that – H and I have been starting to plan out our future together, and it’s so easy and it doesn’t scare me at all, because I know that he’s it.

Here’s the second verse – my favorite:

There was a time when I would have believed them

If they told me you could not come true, just love’s illusion

But then you found me, and everything changed

And I believe in something again

My whole heart will be yours forever

This is a beautiful start to a lifelong love letter

This is a prime example of a song that makes sense if you’ve felt it before. i choose you pinterest

When I was Down South a couple of weeks ago, J2 and I spent some time talking about living situations, life and all that fun girl stuff.  And she said that she was afraid that she’d never be able to have a roommate again, now that she’s lived by herself.  And I told her, I thought the same thing, but it’s just different when you meet that one person you’re meant to be with.  I couldn’t explain it, I couldn’t elaborate.  But she just smiled, because I think she’d heard it before.  I have had some wonderful roommates, but I could never go back to living with another girl.  Ever.  But when H and I decided to move in together, it wasn’t a difficult decision.  I wasn’t worried about giving up my independence, because he would never make me.  All the things that annoyed me about my former roommates – not washing the dishes or always being on the phone or watching things I didn’t want to watch – none of it mattered and it all seemed so silly when I looked back on it.  Because, while those things might happen sometimes with H, it’s different, because he’s different.

To finish it off, here’s the bridge:

We are not perfect, we’ll learn from our mistakes

And as long as it takes, I’ll prove my love to you

I am not scared of the elements, I am underprepared

But I am willing, and even better

I get to be the other half of you.

See?  Ending on that note is exactly what I was going for.  Happy thoughts for a Monday.

-A.

Leave a Reply

