Biking to Work

Now that it is finally summer, I can start on what I mentioned way back in January – biking to work!  I was nervous about it initially, but now that I’ve tried it a few times, I absolutely love it.

I’m lucky enough that we only live about a mile from a bike trail that goes nearly the entire way to work for me, so I barely have to ride on the road.  And I’m just loving the freedom.  So, here are some advantages of biking to work:

  • You don’t have to pay for gas.
  • You don’t have to worry about stupid drivers.  Although stupid bikers (mostly those without helmets) are another story.
  • What better way to wake up than with the breeze on your face?
  • You don’t have to pay for parking.
  • You get your workout in during your commute (how convenient!).
  • You get your Vitamin D fix.
  • It makes the city seem a little less smoggy when you can bike right next to the river and feel the wind of your face.
  • Much fewer stoplights and stop signs!  Although there are still a few.
  • Biking is awesome.

I’ve truly been loving it.  That makes H really happy, because biking was his thing to begin with.

I’m so glad I still have a lot of summer ahead of me!

-A.

3 thoughts on “Biking to Work

  1. You’re lucky to have access to a trail like that. I’d love to bike to work, but I’d have to ride on extremely busy roads. And most of the people are on their phones. Scary!

  2. I used to commute 35 mile to work every day, which took about an hour, but my latest job is a 4 mile bike ride away. The first 1.5 miles are on a pretty busy road, but after that it’s across a gorgeous park. I absolutely love it – it’s one of the things I love most about my job!

Leave a Reply

