A Note on Today’s Post

Well, those of you who follow this blog on a regular basis know that it’s pretty dang late, and I am just posting now.  This happened because I was supposed to write about a person who inspires me today, and I was having trouble finding something to say.

Today’s recipient of my bi-weekly inspiration award was supposed to be Barack Obama.  But I didn’t have it in me to write the post.

I am not a political person.  I’m really not.  I hate having to see other people’s political rantings on social media.  It truly embarrasses me.  So, when I wrote this list of people who inspire me, what was I thinking in including someone who is as hotly debated as the President of the United States.

I do admire some of the things he believes in.  I appreciate that he believes in equal marriage.  I backed the healthcare bill when he first pitched it (although it didn’t roll out like I thought it would, or like it was supposed to).  I saw him speak back in 2007 when I visited my friend over my fall break from college.  He’s charismatic, and he was always better than the other guy.  But.  Oh, there’s always a but.

I can’t get over one recent event.  Maybe I just don’t understand it.  That could very well be the case.  But I can’t understand the prisoner trade that just took place.

My understanding (although I purposely don’t follow some of these things, because it’s exhausting) is that al Qaeda is still alive and well, and they are still terrorizing certain parts of the world.  And we just gave them five of their guys back.  Why?  Because one guy wandered away from his unit and got captured in Afghanistan, and we have this policy that doesn’t leave soldiers behind.  But… I thought we had a policy about not negotiating with terrorists?  Am I the only one who is confused here?

Anyway.  This is the reason my post is so late.  This is the reason I couldn’t figure out what to write.

I don’t welcome political comments in either direction on this post.  Please be respectful.  This is my humble opinion, and I have admitted how little knowledge and patience I have for politics in general.

Thanks, and happy Sunday.

-A.

Leave a Reply

