Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars

tfios4Okay, okay – I’m a month and a half late to the party on this one.  But it took that long for K and I to coordinate our schedules so we could see it together!  This is going to be short and sweet, because the movie was nearly perfect.

The casting was outstanding.  You have already heard (when I reviewed Divergent) how impressed I’ve been with Shailene Woodley as an actress, and she is a wonderful Hazel Grace.  Ansel Elgort charms right from the beginning, making him the perfect Augustus Waters.  The parents were great, Peter Van Houten was great, Isaac was great.  I wasn’t disappointed in the least.

The story followed the book almost to the letter.  There were direct quotes from the book, which I always love.  Gus’s speech was especially perfect, as was Hazel’s eulogy about the little infinities.

This is part of the speech of Gus’s that I’m talking about: tfios1

Oh, gosh.  K and I both cried like babies.  It was wonderful.  The only small detail that was missing was Gus’s sisters.  But they can just stay in the book, I suppose.  I loved it even without them.tfios3 tfios2

I encourage you all to read the book, because if you love movie Gus, you’ll absolutely love book Gus.  Hazel, too.

Happy reading, and don’t forget to be awesome.

-A.

Leave a Reply

