10 Most Common Wedding Planning Mistakes

Well!  It’s that time, isn’t it!  I thought that, before I start planning too much, I should take a gander at The Knot and see what they had to say.  This is probably the most pertinent article to the beginning of the planning, so I thought I would start here.

Y’all will have to let me know if I miss anything!

10 Most Common Wedding Planning Mistakes (according to The Knot):

  1. Doing anything… before the guest list.  Oh, gosh.  Tell me about it.  We already have a rough draft going, and I think it will be good enough to look at sizes of venues.  But.  Holy cow.  What an endeavor, right off the bat.
  2. Reading aloud to your fiancé… from bridal magazines.  Hahaha.  Oh, H wouldn’t find that enjoyable at all.  I hope I’m not one of those brides.
  3. Freaking out because someone else has your gown.  This was a thing for high school prom, too.  I’ve never thought it was a big deal, because every person’s body is different.
  4. Realizing that grape isn’t your color… with two months to go.  Also not a problem, since I’ve had the same favorite color for years, and it’s the color of my ring.  🙂
  5. Trying to drop two sizes before your final fitting.  Yikes.  Hopefully not.
  6. Doing it all yourself.  Well… this might be something I try to do…
  7. Overloading your mom’s big day to-do list.  Eh.  She’s a trooper, right?  (Just kidding, Mom.)
  8. Crying over mismatched linens.  Again, I don’t think I’ll do this, but I guess I can’t say I will for sure.
  9. Blowing your budget.  Oy… again… oy…
  10. Saving your place cards for the morning of.  No, I’m a planner.  Those will probably be done months and months in advance.

So… it sounds like I will at least be mostly okay.  Right?  Right?  Bueller?

Was anything important missed on the list?

-A.

Leave a Reply

