The Dos and Don’ts of DIY for Weddings

Happy August!  Wow, I can’t believe the summer is almost over already!  Just eight short months ago, I set out on an endeavor to blog every day for a year – can you believe I’ve already made it this far?  I can’t!  Not only that, but in just over a year from now, I will be marrying H!  I feel so lucky to have found him, every single day.

So!  On to today’s topic.  I have always wanted to hand-craft a number of things for my own wedding; I have this creative side that I rarely let see the light of day, but this will be my time to shine!  I have already decided to learn calligraphy (and it seems that I might get some practice in before my own wedding!), but what else can a bride do herself to save some money and make the event even more personal?  Well, I did a little digging on The Knot and found this very helpful list of Do-It-Yourself Dos and Don’ts.

You can read the original here.

Dos!

  1. Your makeup.   I can probably count the times I have successfully applied makeup on two hands.  I’ve been in five weddings as a bridesmaid, and I’ve never once worn more than mascara.  I don’t know how to do my own makeup!!  So, this one is going to get thrown out the window for me.  I’m hoping I have a makeup-savvy friend who might be willing to help out.
  2. Your ceremony décor. We are lucky in this regard.  The church where H and I are going to get married is beautiful without anything added.  I’m not sure what we’re going to do with this one yet, but we probably will do it ourselves.
  3. Your favors. Again, I have no idea what we’re going to do yet, but we’ll probably do something ourselves.  I’m thinking some kind of snack.  I love snacks.
  4. Your invitations and save-the-dates. I wish!  I’m crafty, but I’m going to leave this one to the professional (who also happens to be a college friend and a graphic designer!).  I do intend on addressing all of my own envelopes, though.  Does that count for something?
  5. Your programs. Yes, I will probably do this myself.  What better way to make it uniquely us, right?  And maybe my calligraphy skills will come in handy.

Don’ts!

  1. Your cake. You know, I’ve been at weddings where family friends (or someone similar) does the cake, and it’s been completely wonderful.  But, I understand the point here.  At our venue, only licensed bakeries are allowed to bring cakes and other desserts on the premises.  I suppose there’s liability issues everywhere.
  2. Your photos. Oh, I’m so totally leaving this one to the pros.  I’m using the same photographer that K used at her wedding, and I’m so incredibly excited about it!  She’s fantastic.
  3. The coordination. I had to read this one all the way through to understand what it meant, but now I can say that yes, I agree with this one, too.  There’s a wedding coordinator at our church, and at our reception venue.  That way, I can just have a good time on wedding day.  Hooray!
  4. Your centerpieces. I know what we want to do for our centerpieces, and we might actually end up doing them ourselves.  Or maybe the florist will help.  I haven’t gotten that far yet.
  5. Your catering. Oh gosh.  That could turn disastrous.  But no, that’s all set up through our reception venue, thank goodness!
  6. Your music. Again, I’ve seen an iPod playlist at weddings, and it always works out just fine.  There’s just not the same vibe as when there’s a DJ.  We will be getting a DJ, simply because I don’t want to have to worry about people messing with the list, or it not working right, or sound systems, or any of it.

What do you think?  How do the weddings that you’ve been to (or your own!) stack up?  Is there anything you wish you would have done differently?  I need all the advice I can get!

Happy Friday, everyone!

-A.

Leave a Reply

