“Classic” by MKTO

For some reason, I just recently discovered this song.  It’s been out for over a year, I know.  I heard it on the radio the other morning, and that was it.  I’m loving it, listening to it all the time.  Why?  Well, let me tell you.

I can’t speak for H (actually, yes I can.  He would hate this song.), but this song makes me think of him.  Obviously, you’d have to switch all of the pronouns.  But he is classic, in the best ways.  He’s not on social media, so we have actual conversations with each other.  He prefers just being together to the thrills that so many people need these days.  His musical taste is mostly from before his time, which I can appreciate.  He holds the door for me, always lets me order first at restaurants, and treats me in the way you read about in books.  He’s my Wesley, my Prince Charming, my Rhett Butler.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Ooh, pretty baby

This world might’ve gone crazy

The way you save me, who could blame me

When I just want to make you smile

I want to thrill you like Michael

I want to kiss you like Prince

Let’s get it on like Marvin Gaye,

Like Hathaway, write a song for you like this

You’re over my head, I’m out of my mind

Thinking I was born in the wrong time

It’s love on rewind

Everything is so throwback-ish, I kind of like it, like it

You’re out of my league, old school chic

Like a movie star on the silver screen

You’re one of a kind

Living in a world gone plastic

Baby, you’re so classic

Plus, who doesn’t like a guy when he’s got style, when he dresses up?  My engineer wears button-downs and tucks in his shirt every day for work.  I can’t say that I’m tired of it yet, that’s for sure.

-A.

Leave a Reply

