9 Things Every Twenty-Something Needs to Know (from All Groan Up)

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog commenting on something from the website All Groan Up. No, I haven’t forgotten about the wonderful site – I just got a little distracted by everything else that’s been going on (read: summer classes and internships). But! I’m back, and I think this one is just as important as the others I’ve written about and still intend to write about.

So, let’s go!

9 Things Every Twenty-Something Needs to Know (and you can read the original here):

  1. The discipline of yes or no. What I like best about this piece of advice is that Mr. Angone tells you to trust your gut. How many times have you agreed to something, and then knew you made the wrong decision? I’ve felt it in relationships. I’ve felt it in commitments I’ve made, when I’m spread a bit too thin. I could go on. But you, as a person, need to instinctively know when it is best to say yes and when it is best to say no. This is especially relevant when you’re short on money. You have to know where the line is.
  2. How to articulate who you are and what you’re passionate about. This is something I haven’t quite mastered. Find your passion and practice an elevator speech. You need that ability to convince others of what you love in a very limited amount of time.
  3. How to drink and do social media responsibly. This one made me chuckle, but it’s oh, so true. Just like how you don’t want to wake up from a drunken night and regret what you did, you don’t want to look back at your social media history and regret anything either. They aren’t related, but they are similar. And you want to be cautious on both accounts.
  4. New stuff and name brands don’t add value. This one is easy, but lots of young people forget it. Don’t spend money you don’t have. Mr. Angone uses the example of his car that he’s driven to death, and I can agree with that. I am NOT proud of my car. It sucks, actually. The air conditioner barely cools, all of the electric is out except for the driver’s side door (meaning the automatic locks no longer work, and I can’t move my mirror), and it’s a Buick LeSabre from 2003 that is a disgusting shade of bronze-ish brown. It doesn’t have a lot going for it. But I own it. I am not making car payments for a nice Suburu, unlike H. I hate my car, but I think I would hate those payments more.
  5. How to mentor and be mentored. I have a lot of wonderful mentors in my life, although not a single one of them is at my job. However, I’m not sure I’ve ever been a successful mentor to anyone else. I will have to work on that.
  6. How to invest your time with purpose. You know, I think I skipped this part of my life. Or haven’t reached it yet. I still have homework (although it’s not the same as when I was a full-time student in college), and we have a dog, which is at least as much work as a child. With Ole, I would almost argue that it’s more work, but that’s another story. I want to do this, but I’m currently overbooked. Maybe one day.
  7. How to strategically work a crappy job. Am I strategically working my crappy job? Ehh. I try. I’m able to get most of my homework done, and I’ve been doing some of my wedding planning there. And I’ve learned some things about management and unions that I will definitely carry with me for the rest of my working life. So yeah, I guess maybe I am. At the very least, I’m doing the best I can.
  8. How to fail well. Ugh. I hate failing. And a lot of the time, I feel like I am, like I’m floundering in this sea of blah that never ends. But I’m trying. I’m working toward a goal. I have someone who loves me. I have a roof over my head and food on the table. I must be doing all right.
  9. Know when to stay and when to leave. This piece of advice is interesting. It’s all about timing. You have to put in the proper amount of work before moving on, but don’t stay too long. How do you know when it’s time to jump? I guess it goes back to the gut feeling. I would love love LOVE to jump ship on my job and find something I’m more passionate about. But it’s not the right time. We’re getting married in a year, and H wants to go back to get his Master’s when I’m done. Now is not the time, but the time is about a year from now. Logic and your gut have to win on this one, because emotions can make you do things that you’ll regret later. Like leaving a good blah job to go on a road trip with your friends. Not that I regret doing that, but I can’t help but think how much more I’d be making right now, how much more secure I’d be, if I had stayed where I was. And then I think, but would you have met H?

Sometimes, you’ll never know.

Do you think anything important was missing from this list?

Happy Friday!

-A.

One thought on “9 Things Every Twenty-Something Needs to Know (from All Groan Up)

  1. I think you are a master at strategically working your crappy job honestly! Also, you are not failing, at all, but I do think that point is a good one and something most people have to work really hard on.

Leave a Reply

