Josh Hutcherson

Months ago, I mentioned that I would be writing about Josh Hutcherson in August – and here we are! It’s August, and I’m writing about JHutch.

Also, as I feel like I must do, I recommend watching Detention, if you're looking for a movie that will take you on one hell of a ride.
Also, as I feel like I must do, I recommend watching Detention, if you’re looking for a movie that will take you on one hell of a ride.

Unfortunately, as has often been the case this summer, it’s later than I intended it to be. So this isn’t going to be as detailed as I would have wished. Instead, I’m just going to give you a short list of reasons why Josh Hutcherson is a person who inspires me:

  1. He is in the movie adaptation of my favorite YA trilogy. Obviously, I’m talking about The Hunger Games. I could go on and on (and I’ve already written about Suzanne Collins), but the most important thing related to this post is how perfectly Josh Hutcherson embodies Peeta Mellark. I couldn’t picture any other actor in that role.jhutch4
  2. He isn’t a fame-whore. So many celebrities (I’m looking at you, Kardashians) flaunt their status around. He doesn’t do that. I may or may not be a part of the JHutch fandom on Tumblr (he’s my fave), and people freak out when they see a picture of him, because he’s an enigma, much of the time. It makes him seem more human.
  3. He loves tattoos and motorcycles. I’m not going to say any more about this, but I appreciate it. That’s all. 😉
  4. He’s from small-town Kentucky. It’s one of the reasons I also love Jennifer Lawrence. These people hail from a state that is not often recognized, and they still call those places home. As Carrie Underwood says, “Thank God for hometowns.” They keep you grounded, which he is.jhutch2
  5. He is a spokesperson for Straight But Not Narrow, and actually hosted a basketball tournament this weekend in LA as a benefit for the charity. Now, all of those other qualities are great, but this is the big one. SBNN really taught me a lot about standing up for what I believe in, and equal rights across sexual orientations is one of those undeniable beliefs that I have. I believe, with all of my heart, that people should be able to love who they love. And Josh Hutcherson shares that belief with me. And, lucky for him, he has a better platform to spread that belief to the greater American public. And the more power to him, for doing that!  Read this for information on his latest cause.jhutch1
    jhutch3

And, on top of all of this, he just won a Teen Choice Award tonight for Catching Fire. Good work!

-A.

Leave a Reply

