Book Review – The Storyteller, by Jodi Picoult

So, I know it’s been months since I wrote about Jodi Picoult, but I finally had the time and energy to read her latest – The Storyteller. It was recommended to me by The Fourteenth of April, and I must say, THANK YOU for the recommendation! This is one of my favorites of hers, now. I love history, which made me absolutely adore everything about this book. And, I mean, I also love a good love story. And this was all of that, and then some.jp storyteller

As is standard for Ms. Picoult, this story is told from multiple points of view at different points in time. There’s Sage, who is telling the story in the present. There are Minka and Josef, recalling their memories of World War II and the Holocaust. And there is Ania, who is a character in a fairy tale. It’s beautifully written, and everything is woven together so perfectly.

I won’t give anything away (I promise!), but I will say this – I wasn’t anticipating the ending this time. I’ve predicted the twist when I’ve read her last few, and this time, I didn’t. It was perfect.

Well done again, Jodi Picoult! I can’t wait for her next one, which I think comes out this fall sometime.

-A.

Leave a Reply

