Monster Dash Half Marathon Training, Week 5

“But I keep cruising.  Can’t stop, won’t stop moving.  It’s like I’ve got this music in my mind saying it’s gonna be all right.”  —Taylor Swift, “Shake It Off”

I felt so much better this week!  I stayed on track and got it all done, although my weekday cross training still needs some improvement.  Overall, though, I felt pretty accomplished.  Plus, I got that new (additional) job!  So, here we go for week 5 – we’re almost halfway through the training plan!  Holy crap!

Monday – rest.

I was totally still in weekend mode, so I didn’t do a whole lot.  It was Labor Day, after all – and you’re not supposed to labor on Labor Day!  So I relaxed with H and his mom and cousin for most of the day, and I was completely okay with it.

Tuesday – 2.99 miles.

Why my running app couldn’t round that up to three miles, I’m not sure.  But I came in at 2.99.  Ole was my buddy again, and our pace actually wasn’t too bad – 10:08.  For running with a hunting dog who would much rather stop and point at stuff, that was a pretty good clip.

Wednesday – rest.

I finally had the chance to drive to the jewelry store to have my ring resized – I’ve been wearing it too big for the last month and a half!  It’s super weird not to have it on my finger, and I can’t wait to get it back.  And I won’t have to worry about it falling off anymore!  In any case, I had class in the evening, so I didn’t do my cross training.

Thursday – 2.11 miles.

I had to have a discussion with my boss in the morning about working the new job into my schedule (it’s all a go!), so I didn’t run before work.  So I threw on the lightest clothes I could find and did a quick 2 miles in 81 degree heat with 75% humidity.  It was sticky, to say the least.  But it was better than nothing.  And it was one of my fastest paces since I started running again – 9:37.

Friday – rest.

It wasn’t a great day for me.  Everything seemed to be going wrong, and I was generally annoyed at the world.  So H and I made a taco bake and watched Horrible Bosses on the couch.  And it was exactly what I needed.

Saturday – 8.50 miles.

One of my bestest high school friends came over bright and early on a Saturday morning to run with Ole and me!  And it was wonderful, because we needed some time to catch up.  And Ole tried to take advantage of us and dive after some squirrels, but I was able to mostly hold my ground.  He’s a stinker sometimes.  I was pretty impressed with our average pace – 10:00, and that’s with Ole!  But the best part was this – my knee pain was completely manageable!  I’ve been using yoga to cool down after runs, and I’ve been doing my best to keep up with my physical therapy exercises, and I’m thinking (really really hoping) that it’s helping!  Hooray!

This route doesn't look as much like Nebraska, unfortunately.
This route doesn’t look as much like Nebraska, unfortunately.
My cool new shirt!
My cool new shirt!

Sunday – biked 30 miles.

About a month ago, H and I registered for this pretty cool bike classic in the city we live in.  We were planning on going 45 miles, but then we realized that the 30 mile course was enough (because the extra 15 miles were repeating part of what we would have already done).  So we set off on that!  And… I tipped over and injured myself before we even started.  It was ugly looking, but I think it’s mostly a burn.  A nice nurse covered it and taped me up, and we were on our way.  It was a great workout.  I love biking, although I’m obviously still a novice.  And we couldn’t have asked for a nicer day!

Beautiful day for a bike ride!
Beautiful day for a bike ride!
Feel down.  Went boom.
Feel down. Went boom.
After some cleaning, it doesn't look so bad... right? (Ouch.)
After some cleaning, it doesn’t look so bad… right? (Ouch.)

All in all, it was a successful training week.  I’m hoping the next week goes just as smoothly!  (Even though I’m now dealing with a good-sized scab on my knee… awesome.)

-A.

One thought on “Monster Dash Half Marathon Training, Week 5

  1. Nice job! Though I could never stop a run at 2.99 miles, I’d have to go the extra .01. Call it ocd…
    I like that route – simple and easy to navigate. A group I run with has these crazy routes that take us on all these turns. I don’t understand why people just don’t keep it as easy to remember as possible. HOpe the knee is ok!!

Leave a Reply

