Monster Dash Half Marathon Training, Week 6

“Ohhhh, we’re halfway there. WHOA-OH! Living on a prayer. Take my hand, we’ll make it, I swear. WHOA-OH! Living on a prayer.” —Bon Jovi, “Living on a Prayer”

It’s the halfway point of my half marathon training! Therefore, Bon Jovi seemed appropriate. Don’t judge.

Monday: rest.

H and I ended up staying up late watching the movie Walk of Shame. If you love Elizabeth Banks, I’d recommend it. If you’re a moderate fan, like me, you will probably still laugh. But I found it to be kind of long. And it made me anxious.walk of shame

Tuesday: 2.37 miles.

I was a little nervous about this run, because my knee was still a pretty fresh wound. Remember my busted up knee from the bike ride the week before? Yeah, it was still a bit raw. But the run went all right. I was tired. My legs were shot. It had been a lot of activity the weekend before.

Wednesday: rest.

I have class on Wednesdays this semester, so I really need to learn to do my yoga in the morning. Since I’ll never get it done after work. Class went well, but my training is taking a hit.

Thursday: rest.

I was still feeling pretty worn out, so I took an extra rest day. Plus, with J1 and G arriving the next day, I knew I’d stay busy through the weekend. So I’d make it up.

Friday: rest.

I went to my Graduate Assistant (from now on, GA) job, then to my full time job, then straight to the airport to pick up J1 and G. The beginning of a busy and fun weekend!

Saturday: 6.08 (rather painful) miles.

I started out the morning bright and early, taking Ole on a six-miler. I was good for the first four miles or so, but then my knee started to hurt. I can’t really blame it – aside from skinning my knee pretty good on that bike ride, I bruised it deeply. So, my physical therapy and cross training are suffering. I fell behind. I’m trying to catch up again, because I have a nine-miler next weekend. But I’m a little concerned. I’m hoping it’s just middle-of-the-training-plan blues. Hopefully. Despite my knee causing me some trouble, Ole and I averaged a pretty fast pace – 9:28 per mile. It wasn’t a pretty run, though. The rest of the day was spent shopping and picking out potential bridesmaid dresses for J1’s wedding. And eating. We did a lot of eating.

What state do I look like this time?
What state do I look like this time?

2014-09-16 20.30.58 2014-09-16 20.31.03

Sunday: walked 2 miles.

H, J1, G, and I took Ole for a little woods-walking down by the river. It was a gorgeous day, so I was glad we did it. But I was definitely pooped afterward.2014-09-14 13.38.11

I’m still really tired, even a full week after the biking adventure. I really am hoping it’s just because it’s the middle of the training plan, and I’m feeling a little disenchanted. The fall is only going to get busier – I can’t be tired yet!

Six weeks down, six to go…

-A.

Leave a Reply

