My New Running (and Life) Goals

Today is normally my travel blogging day, but I wanted to share some new goals that I decided on after the race yesterday. I’m hurting pretty badly today, but that was to be expected, since my IT band was causing me trouble during my training. But it hasn’t made me stop wanting to keep running, to reach new heights. I have some new PR goals in mind for the coming year, and then some bigger goals for the future.

This Year

Current 5K PR: 25:52

5K PR Goal: under 25:00

Current 10K PR: 53:02

10K PR Goal: under 50:00

Future Goals

Current Half Marathon PR: 1:53:37

Half Marathon PR Goal: under 1:50:00

Marathon Goal: to finish! And to qualify for Boston! But, to start: under 4:00:00

Yoga goal: Nail the Scorpion! And use yoga to strengthen my core (like I kept talking about doing in my training plan), so that I can run strong in the future.

What do you think? Realistic goals?

I may be hurting, but I never stop dreaming!

-A.

2 thoughts on “My New Running (and Life) Goals

  1. I kind of don’t think there’s anything wrong with goals even if they *are* unrealistic. I mean, what’s the worst that can happen? You fail? At least you tried, and you probably improved at whatever you were working on along the way, so there’s really no down side as far as I can see. It’s not like not meeting a goal is going to land you in jail or something, right? So, these goals sound great! Good luck!

  2. Nice! You got this! After setting a couple PR’s already this year, I’ve learned that it really comes from hard work. I’ve been putting in the miles, running the hills, hitting the track, and it’s paying off. Crossing the line achieving your goals makes up for all the months of work that went into it!

Leave a Reply

