“Girl in a Country Song” by Maddie and Tae

Okay, this video is hilarious. I thought the song was funny by itself, but the video just makes it a million times better.

Why do I like this song? That should be pretty clear, especially for those of you who have been reading this blog from the beginning. I am fairly strong-willed, and for the love of God, don’t try to tell me what to do. It won’t go well for you, although I also don’t particularly like confrontation, so I’ll just come off as surly. I believe in the power of women. I am a feminist, and that is not a dirty word, so don’t even try.

So, naturally, I’ve always had trouble with country music. I love it and I hate it at the same time. Oh, Jason Aldean, you’re going to sing about a girl being naked in your bed? What if a girl sang that line? Slut, whore, you name it. That’s just one example out of many. So, on to this wonderful little ditty by newcomers Maddie and Tae…

Well, shakin’ my money maker ain’t ever made me a dime

And there ain’t no sugar for you in this shaker of mine

Tell me one more time, “you gotta get you some of that.”

Sure, I’ll slide on over, but you’re gonna get slapped

These days it ain’t easy being that

Girl in a country song

How in the world did it go so wrong?

Like all we’re good for is looking good

For you and your friends on the weekend, nothing more

We used to get a little respect

Now we’re lucky if we even get

To climb up in your truck, keep our mouth shut and ride along

And be the girl in a country song

I just can’t express how much I love this. What better way to address this sexist issue in country music than with humor? Maddie and Tae are perfect. I can’t wait to hear more from them.

In the meantime, no, I’m not going to sit in the middle seat in your truck while you take me down a back road. Sorry. I watch a lot of Criminal Minds. People get killed on dirt roads in the dark. So, yeah. There’s that.

-A.

Leave a Reply

