New Things, Thoughts Galore

Now that the half is over (and I can finally rest for a while!), my brain has been working overtime.  It’s that time of year, for me.  It starts to get cold, and I start to wish I was anywhere but here.  But this year is different.  This year, I have to sit and wait.

Why?

Because H is applying to graduate school.  Have I mentioned that on this blog yet?  He’s applying so that, the month after we get married, he can go back to school.  He wants to get his Master’s degree so that he can design crazy cool buildings and stuff.  And I completely support him, for two very important reasons (aside from loving him, obviously):

  1. I am currently get my Master’s degree, so I’m obviously on board with furthering your education.
  2. We might escape from this frozen tundra for a year (or maybe more, if I’m lucky).

But this leaves me in a tricky position.  I want to start applying for jobs, because, since my program is online, I could move on before my official graduation.  But I don’t want to start a job only to leave six months later.  At this point in the year, I really just have to wait it out.  We will be married when he starts, and I would never EVER want to be one of those couples who spends their first year of marriage apart.  That sounds awful.  It’s going to be hard enough to spend the first year of marriage with H in an intensive engineering Master’s program.

But I don’t want to wait it out.  I’m just treading water here.  I really shouldn’t feel that way, since I’m planning our wedding and going to school and graduate assisting.  But I still do.  I still don’t feel like I’m doing what I’m meant to do.

But I’m afraid that what I’m meant to do might require more schooling.  And it’s not the first time I’ve thought that.  I know what I have to do.  I have to finish my degree, find a job where H gets into school, and then see what happens.  But it’s hard when I always want to be two or four or eight steps ahead.

Also, I’m trying to figure out what to do with this blog once the year ends.  My goal will have been completed.  Do I turn it into a topical blog?  Or split it into several mini-blogs, on the different topics that I currently cover on this one?  Running plus wedding planning plus television recaps?  Gosh, I don’t know what to do.  H is urging me to not make a commitment like this one to a blog again, but I’m so proud of myself for sticking with it.  Only two months to go!

Thoughts?  Does anyone else ever feel like they’re running in place on the career front?  Advice, anyone?

-A.

Leave a Reply

