Black Friday

I’m going to start this post off by saying how much I love shopping. Indeed, it is one of my favorite things to do, both for other people and for myself. I enjoy finding just the perfect thing. Christmas in itself is a fun holiday, but I love the prep even more. But the thing is… I hate Black Friday.

Here’s why:

  1. The name itself is terrible—Black Friday. I’m not sure where that came from, but it makes me think of Easter. Yeah, have you ever thought of that? The day when Jesus died? We call it Good Friday, but in the stories, the sky turns black. Are you supposed to think of death when you’re shopping?
  2. What is the point of trampling people in order to save a little bit of money? It doesn’t seem logical. People get physically hurt while shopping on Black Friday. Wouldn’t the hospital bills equal the money you saved shopping? Also, so many people touch you. Why is that something people want?
  3. There is one day a year where people across the country give thanks for what they have been blessed with. Whose idea was it to make the next day all about rushing around and buying things? It seems ridiculous to me.

For those of you who know me, you’ll know that I don’t like crowds. Or people in general, oftentimes. But this whole concept… I just hate it. I hate the idea of not enjoying the one weekend a year we are supposed to be thankful for our families and friends, our health and our lives.

So, needless to say, I didn’t do any shopping this year. Not in stores, at least. Much of my Christmas shopping is done, but I’ve done most of it online.

I would rather just stay home and have more than one day of giving thanks.

Has anyone done any crazy shopping this year?

-A.

Leave a Reply

