New Job, New Adventure

I’ve worked at my new job for two whole days now!  Exciting, I know.  I can’t say a whole lot, because of confidentiality and all of that.  But I have already learned a whole bunch of things!  So I thought I would share some of the things I have learned after two days at a job in my field.  I’m hoping to continue to update this as I go!

  1. Intellectual property is something that is a concern in positions like mine.  Okay, so I’m a technical writer/instructional designer, right?  One of the forms that I had to read (and that I probably have to sign, but I haven’t confirmed that with HR yet) states that the company owns any sort of intellectual property that I come up with while I’m working there.  The reason I want to check on it is because I’m really hoping to get back into writing down all of the stories that are up in my head, once I’m done with my Master’s degree.  So it’s one of those things where, if I create something while on work time, it’s theirs, right?  I can create outside of work, and that stuff is mine.  I have to be careful.  Inspiration strikes me at inconvenient times sometimes, and I have to be consciously aware of that.
  2. My Master’s degree is relevant.  Shocker, right?  I remember thinking that, when I graduated from college, the skills that I learned in my chemistry degree didn’t get me a whole lot.  At least, not without going into a chemistry graduate program.  But the skills that I’m learning in my technical communication Master’s program are completely applicable to my new job.  I feel right at home!  My school should hire me to advertise for them.
  3. I’m having fun!  I breezed through the training videos (probably because most of the general information wasn’t new to me), so I got my first assignment on my second day of work.  Cool, right?  And I loved it.  I feel like I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing.  Isn’t that everyone’s goal in life?

So, moral of the story – if you’re not happy, change your life.  It might take extra work, and it might not happen right away.  I worked at a dead-end job for a year before I figured out what I wanted to do, and then another year and a half while I was working toward my Master’s.  And now look at me.  I’m where I’m supposed to be.

It’s not luck, people.  It’s hard work.  Never let anyone tell you that luck has anything to do with anything.  You can make anything happen by working your tail off.  Trust me.  I’m unlucky, but I work hard.  I have discovered that I can get through anything.  And now I’m here, happy at work.  Busy at work.  Working at work!  Go figure!

My, it certainly is a happy Tuesday.

-A.

Leave a Reply

