Running Recap 2014

A year ago this week (as TimeHop reminded me), I wrote an extensive blog post as a recap of the races I ran in 2013.  I loved doing this.  I loved reliving the fun of the races, of accomplishing goals and establishing PRs to beat in the future.  I always had the intention of doing that same thing this year.

Then I got hurt.

Running in 2014, for me, was all about failure.  And pain.  There was also a lot of pain.  It’s one of my favorite things to do to unwind, and to do with Ole, which made these things particularly frustrating to me.  I wanted to run that marathon in June.  It was one of the last running goals I had to accomplish.  But I physically couldn’t.  And that was very difficult for me.

So, this year, I’m not writing a running recap like last year.  I want to put this year behind me and focus on the year ahead.  Yes, I ran six races last year.  They weren’t my best, and the times (to me) are irrelevant when it comes to training goals.  How this affects my year ahead?

I want to be better in every way.  I want my body to be better, and my commitment to be better, and my training to be better.  You can’t prepare for a race by just running.  I need to crosstrain.  I need my entire body to be prepared to take on the stress that my knee has been feeling.  Hopefully, this will save my knee in the future, so there’s no hint of a limp as I walk down the aisle toward H in just over seven months.  I have a lot of goals, and once I get through this semester and graduate, I will have the time to actually focus.

Here’s to a great year of running.  Happy 2015!

-A.

My races this year sure were fun though.  I have great memories of running with some of the people I love the most.

We finished! Medals for everyone!

Ready, ready, ready, ready, ready to run.

2014-08-30 08.43.51-22014-07-13 10.19.56-2

Get Lucky 7K finishers! :)

Leave a Reply

