Outfits of the Day, Edition One

I realized this morning that I never recapped last week’s Outfits of the Day.  So, rather than make it a weekly thing, I decided to just make it a whenever-I-get-to-it thing.  Sounds super noncommittal, but that’s not what I’m trying to do.  Life is weird and crazy and busy, and I don’t want to make promises that I can’t keep.  So, today is Edition One of my Outfits of the Day recap.

Monday January 12, 2015

Belted Dress: Maurices Cardigan: New York & Company Tights: Express Booties: Bare Traps Necklace: Chloe + Isabel
Belted Dress: Maurices
Cardigan: New York & Company
Tights: Express
Booties: Bare Traps
Necklace: Chloe + Isabel

For my first day of my new endeavor, I wanted to wear something old paired with something new.  And that’s exactly what I did.  I can’t remember how long ago I bought that wonderful belted dress, but it was in college.  I wore it to my second lab tech interview back in 2012, and it was old then!  But I’ve never stopped loving it, and I’m glad it was my first chronicled outfit.  The cardigan has sparkly buttons, which you can’t see, but that gives it a little flair.  And that pearl necklace is probably my favorite piece from Chloe + Isabel.  (I’m still a merchandiser, by the way, so if you ever see a piece that I’m wearing and you love it, let me know!  I can help you with that!  Okay, I’m done plugging now.)  I will also note that, when I am wearing dresses from now until probably May, I’ll have tights or leggings on.  Because Midwestern winters are brutal.

Tuesday January 13, 2015

Sweater: The Limited Pants: Express Boots: B2 Earrings: Chloe + Isabel
Sweater: The Limited
Pants: Express
Boots: B2
Earrings: Chloe + Isabel

Again, the picture doesn’t do the sparkle justice.  There are crystal details on this sweater that really make it what it is.  I paired it with the pave hoops for a little extra shine on this Tuesday.  I was cozy and warm all day, that’s for sure!

Wednesday January 14, 2015

Dress: Target Cardigan: Target Tights: Express Booties: Express Jewelry: Chloe + Isabel
Dress: Target
Cardigan: Target
Tights: Express
Booties: Express
Jewelry: Chloe + Isabel

I had my performance review on this day, so I decided to wear another dress.  Two in a single week, I know!  Again, the picture doesn’t do it justice, because those tights had gold glitter woven throughout.  They are fabulous.  The golden sweater and jewelry accentuated the tights, and that’s exactly what I was going for.  It was a solid outfit day.

Thursday January 16, 2015

Sweater: Banana Republic Pants: New York & Company Boots: Express
Sweater: Banana Republic
Pants: New York & Company
Boots: Express

Green pants, guys.  I love green (anyone who has seen my engagement ring or most of my wardrobe can attest to that), so those pants were one of the best finds I’ve made lately.  The simple black sweater and my favorite trusty black boots made me feel very confident in those wonderful green pants.

Friday January 17, 2015

Shirt: Maurices Cardigan: O'Neill Jeans: American Eagle Booties: Bare Traps
Shirt: Maurices
Cardigan: O’Neill
Jeans: American Eagle
Booties: Bare Traps

My office participates in Casual Friday, so I wasn’t sure if I was going to include Fridays in this segment.  I decided to because it’s a continuation of what I am already trying to do – show how to style for work.  Just because it’s casual doesn’t mean you can just throw on a tee and go to work.  You still have to be office appropriate.  So I paired one of my favorite colorful cardigans with some light skinny jeans, making the outfit both fun and work-appropriate.

Monday January 19, 2015

Sweater: Gap Leggings: White Plum Boots: Express Necklace: Chloe + Isabel
Sweater: Gap
Leggings: White Plum
Boots: Express
Necklace: Chloe + Isabel

On this Martin Luther King Day, I was the only one in our house with anywhere to be – H had the day off!  Lucky him.  I work extra hours on Mondays to make my TA-ing schedule work, so I knew I’d be at the office for the long haul.  I recently discovered White Plum, and I was blown away by the fabulousness of their leggings.  They’re fleece-lined!  So I was warm all day!  I also want to point out that this is another of my favorite pieces of C+I jewelry – I love the tricolored metals.

Tuesday January 20, 2015

Blouse: Solitaire Blazer: The Limited Pants: Express Boots: B2
Blouse: Solitaire
Blazer: The Limited
Pants: Express
Boots: B2

Which leads me to today!  I’m sitting here writing this in this outfit, so it seems a little meta.  I absolutely love this blazer, though.  It was a steal on clearance at the Limited over a year ago, and I’ve never regretted buying it.  I never would have thought I could pull off a navy striped blazer, but you can pull off anything you want as long as you have the confidence to wear it.  It makes the outfit a little bit nautical, and anyone who knows me knows how I love anchors.

What am I learning?  I’m learning that this is fun!  You can see that I’m starting to reuse my favorite pieces (those khakis, for one), but I have enough variety to keep going for a while without rewearing an entire outfit.  We’ll see how long I can keep it up!

Until the next edition,

-A.

2 thoughts on “Outfits of the Day, Edition One

  1. I LOVE that navy blazer and looked to see where it was from. Of course it was The Limited. Also, love the green pants! I have some too and they are my favorite! You will have to get me motivated to wear dresses. These Midwestern winters you speak of still seem just too brutal! Though I bought a new dress at Banana this weekend, so I feel I have to give it a shot this week.

Leave a Reply

