Fitness Rituals

Have you ever thought about the things that you do every single time you work out?  I actually hadn’t until recently.  And I don’t think I have a routine, per se, but I do have some rituals.

  • I eat.

I know that not everyone does this, but let me explain.  As I stated back in this post, I’m hypoglycemic.  So I metabolize everything at a faster rate than everyone else.  So, yes, I eat before I workout.  I try to give myself 30 minutes of digestion or so, so I don’t get sick or anything.  And my meals vary – it can be as simple as a nutrigrain bar or oatmeal.  It just has to be something with carbs.

  • I make sure I’m wearing the appropriate clothing.

I’m not one of those people who is fine with wearing whatever when I work out.  I don’t like things that are baggy, and I don’t like clothes that get in the way.  And, above all, I don’t like clothes that don’t wick sweat away.  I’m miserable otherwise!  I should say that most of my workouts are either running or yoga, so the better-fitting the clothing, the better in general.  But that is something that I always do – I dress appropriately.  I also remember a friend telling me once that she forgot to wear socks running and got such terrible blisters that she thought she had blood poisoning.  So… wear socks when you run.  Because blood poisoning is bad.

  • I listen to “Work Bitch” by Britney Spears.

Is there a more motivating song on my playlist?  Definitely not.  I suppose I don’t always listen to this when I do yoga (weird), but always when I run.  It motivates me like no other song that I’ve found.

This is all assuming that I’ve had a good night’s sleep, too.  That is definitely the key to feeling good during a workout.  There’s this awesome new mattress company called Casper that delivers the mattress right to your door, AND has a 100 day money-back guarantee!  Could it get much better than that?

So.  Workout rituals are all well and good, but a good night’s sleep is the best.  That’s the moral of this story.

-A.

Leave a Reply

